Call of Duty Champions Crowned, $1 Million in Prizes Distributed

The 2015 Call of Duty Championship, the biggest console esports event of the year, wrapped up this weekend.

Who won?

Denial eSports battled it out with Team Revenge in the finals, with Denial going home with the title, the trophy, and the $400,000 grand prize. Denial’s James “Clayster” Eubanks was subsequently voted the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

How did it all play out?

The team’s run was a bit of a weekend underdog story, toppling favorites like OpTic Gaming, who swept Denial twice before in qualifier tournaments. The finals saw them duking it out with Revenge Gaming in a mix of Hardpoint, Search and Destroy, Uplink, and Capture the Flag game modes. A final Search and Destroy match saw the two going neck and neck until a deciding tie-breaker round that had Denial crowned as the new Call of Duty world champions.

I missed it, what was this tournament all about?

The championship featured 32 of the world’s top Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare teams competing over three days, for $1 million in prizes. In addition to Denial’s big win, the weekend was an even bigger victory for Call of Duty, setting record viewership numbers for the championship.

While $1 million isn’t a staggering amount of money anymore by esports standards, it’s still huge for console gaming, and sees Call of Duty defending its title for the biggest console esports event in the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button