2014 WGA Awards Announced: Her, Captain Phillips, Breaking Bad, House of Cards Take Home Honors

Community Post: This article was submitted by a member of our community. Find out how you can publish your own writing here!

The 2014 Writers Guild of America Award winners have been announced, with Spike Jonze, Breaking Bad, and Captain Phillips among some of the big winners. Check out the full list below.



Original Screenplay: Her, Written by Spike Jonze

Adapted Screenplay: Captain Phillips, Screenplay by Billy Ray; Based on the book A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty

Documentary Screenplay: Stories We Tell, Written by Sarah Polley



Drama Series: Breaking Bad, Written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

Comedy Series: Veep, Written by Simon Blackwell, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Tony Roche, Will Smith

New Series: House of Cards, Written by Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem, Beau Willimon

Episodic Drama: “Confessions” (Breaking Bad), Written by Gennifer Hutchison

Episodic Comedy: “Hogcock!” (30 Rock), Written by Jack Burditt & Robert Carlock

Long Form – Adapted: Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight, Written by Shawn Slovo, Based on the book by Howard Bingham and Max Wallace

Short Form New Media – Original: “Episode 4: The Collected Sylvia” (Sylvia Plath: Girl Detective), Written by Mike Simses

Animation: “A Test Before Trying” (The Simpsons), Written by Joel H. Cohen

Comedy / Variety (Including Talk) – Series: The Colbert Report, Writers: Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Michael Brumm, Nate Charny, Rich Dahm, Paul Dinello, Eric Drysdale, Rob Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Gabe Gronli, Dan Guterman, Barry Julien, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Bobby Mort, Meredith Scardino, Max Werner

Comedy / Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – Specials: Blake Shelton’s Not So Family Christmas, Head Writers: Jay Martel, Ian Roberts; Writers: Alex Rubens, Charlie Sanders

Quiz and Audience Participation: Jeopardy!, Written by John Duarte, Harry Friedman, Mark Gaberman, Debbie Griffin, Michele Loud, Robert McClenaghan, Jim Rhine, Steve D. Tamerius, Billy Wisse

Daytime Drama: Days of Our Lives, Written by Lorraine Broderick, David Cherrill, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, Christopher Dunn, Janet Iacobuzio, David A. Levinson, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Melissa Salmons, Christopher J. Whitesell

Children’s – Episodic & Specials: “influANTces” (A.N.T. Farm), Written by Vincent Brown

Documentary – Current Events: “Egypt in Crisis” (Frontline), Written by Marcela Gaviria & Martin Smith

Documentary – Other Than Current Events: (tie) “The Abolitionists” (American Experience), Written by Rob Rapley and “Silicon Valley” (American Experience), Telescript by Randall MacLowry and Michelle Ferrari; Story by Randall MacLowry

News – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report: “Tragedy at Newtown” Special Edition (ABC World News with Diane Sawyer), Written by Lisa Ferri and Matt Negrin

News – Analysis, Feature, or Commentary: “Lethal Medicine” (60 Minutes), Written by Michael Rey, Oriana Zill de Granados, Michael Radutzky

Video Game: The Last of Us, Written by Neil Druckmann

Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement: Paul Mazursky

Evelyn F. Burkey Award for Career Achievement: James Schamus

Valentine Davies Award: Sam Simon

Community Post: This article was submitted by a member of our community. The views expressed are the opinions of the designated author, and do not reflect the opinions of the Overmental as a whole or any other individual. We will gladly cooperate in the removal of plagiarism or any copyright infringement. Please contact us here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button