So, Is It a Star Wars ‘Story’ or ‘Anthology’?

Above is the logo for Star Wars: Rogue One that was used during today’s D23 presentation. Something seems a bit off though…

Here’s the previous teaser logo that Disney has been using for comparison:

star wars rogue one anthology

Wait, are they not called ‘Anthology’ films anymore?

That, weirdly enough, doesn’t seem to be the case. The spin-off films as a whole are still being categorized as Anthology films on the official Star Wars website. That indicates that the “story” addendum is part of Rogue One‘s new official title, but does not reflect any changes to the titling of the series as a whole.

So basically, the movie is called Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, and it is part of the Star Wars Anthology series.

What are the Anthology films anyways?

The Anthology films are a series of “standalone” entries in the Star Wars universe (entirely canon though of course). They will be released every other year, filling the gap between the new trilogy installments, and making sure that there is a Star Wars movie out every year through 2019.

Here’s what that schedule looks like:

  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – 2015
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – 2016
  • Star Wars: Episode VIII – 2017
  • Currently Untitled Han Solo Anthology – 2018
  • Star Wars: Episode IX – 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button