What are the Differences Between Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire?

The new Pokemon games are out today, and as always, this presents the frugal gamer with a difficult choice: which version should I get?

Luckily, Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire are basically the same game, with just a few variations.

The biggest difference is the game’s antagonists. If you pick up Omega Ruby, the primary villains will be Team Magma. Meanwhile in Alpha Sapphire, you’ll be going up against Team Aqua.


The other big difference  are 24 Pokemon that are exclusive to a particular version (12 for each game). Half of these are Legendary Pokemon.

They are:

Omega Ruby: Groudon*, Latios*, Ho-Oh*, Reshiram*, Tornadus*, Palkia*, Mawile, Seedot, Nuzleaf, Shiftry, Solrock, Zangoose

Alpha Sapphire: Kyogre*, Latias*, Lugia*, Dialga*, Thundurus*, Zekrom*, Sableye, Lotad, Lombre, Lucicolo, Lunatone, Seviper

* denotes a Legendary Pokemon.


Fortunately for everyone, it does not appear that the Mega Stones are version specific like in X and Y, meaning you can collect all of them without buying both games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button